Share the love...
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on telegram

The HyperVerse (HyperFund) vs YieldNodes – which is the best?

Photo by Romain Paget on Unsplash

The HyperVerse (HyperFund) vs YieldNodes – which is the best?

This is a review of my personal experience with Yieldnodes and Hyperfund (now known as The HyperVerse). If you’ve read other posts, you’ll already know that I have been with both these programs since December 2020 and have provided articles of my experience with each, but how did I split my funds?

And how do I feel about them now, (six months later)?

Note that neither are financial services companies; YieldNodes is a server rental program with profit share and Hyperfund is a membership program with rewards. 

What was my situation?

Personal finance is called personal finance for a reason. And what’s one person feels is best for them can be very different to the next. So, for background, here’s an outline of where I was in terms of available money, time and other considerations.

1. Money:

I’d pulled together money via saving on the van conversion and doing a big ‘clear out’ in November/December 2020 (ie. selling everything that wasn’t being used from books to neglected websites!). I also sold out some crypto that I had remaining in odd wallets since 2017. 

You can read more about how we made those savings on the van here — these savings are where a large chunk of the funds came from.

I won’t share exact amounts, however the sum I managed to accumulate by saving and selling was into five figures. 

2. Time:

Technically, apart from working on the van, a few web maintenance responsibilities and usual life stuff, I could have had a fair bit of free time. However, I was given the opportunity to extend and expand an existing freelance contract that would take me until around April 2021. 

Between the freelance work, the van conversion and other ‘life stuff’, my available time to invest would be virtually zero.

Alternatively, I could decline the work and kick off 2021 ‘time-rich’ but less well off in terms of cash…

3. Wants:

I knew I wanted to spread my risk between 2-3 opportunities and that I didn’t want anything that required selling or recruitment.

It must be suitable for van life (ie not require lots of hardware or energy, not be tied to a time/location, not require ‘always on’ internet connection) and it needed to be easy to withdraw. The more passive, the better; or at least, minimal responsibility.

I’m very bullish on blockchain/crypto. However, I wanted something that was more stable and less volatile than crypto itself and that didn’t compel me to check crypto prices every day/hour.

The opportunities

After researching many opportunities and testing a few (which I’ll document at some point) two stood out from the crowd; YieldNodes and HyperFund (now ‘The HyperVerse’ – I’ve updated throughout this post). 

Both opportunities were in the blockchain space, but not directly correlated to cryptocurrency price fluctuations (crypto such as Bitcoin can rise and fall in value a lot — daily changes of 20% are not unusual and this is something I was keen to avoid as I would already be investing in crypto directly and wanted to iron-out some of the volatility if possible). And the due diligence I carried out for each was enough to satisfy my risk-reward thresholds.

Each program made it simple to deposit. And each operated very differently which helped spread the risk a little.

The general risk assessment

I made the following decisions based on a loose formula that I use for assessing opportunities and risk that relates to time, money, emotion and a few other factors such as responsibility, internet connectivity requirements and hardware/energy requirements.

These assessments are in addition to due diligence on the individual opportunity.

Overall, my decisions were to:

  1. Take the 4 months contract work – having four months income from contract work would reduce my overall risk and both opportunities required almost zero time commitment, so I wouldn’t be distracted from my freelance responsibilities.
  2. Go in ‘heavy’ – the same time is required regardless of amount/value. Doing #1 enabled me to do #2 😉
  3. De-risk as fast as possible – by withdrawing and taking advantage of each opportunity’s ‘strengths’ to maximise return I would be able to de-risk regularly and quickly.

This worked for me in terms of my personal risk threshold and comfort level.

Whilst I would have preferred the free time to work on the van and explore other opportunities as we entered 2021 (instead of freelancing), doing that would have required me to hold back some of those savings as income contingency.

Decision table: Time vs Money (vs Reward)

The following table gives you an overview of why I decided to knuckle down and take the freelance contract.

As you can see, where there was a ‘negative’ in one, the other countered it / balanced it out.

The Freelance Contract The Passive Opportunities
Initial requirements (pre-start):
$$$ Zero High
Time Zero Very Low
Ongoing requirements:
$$$ Zero Zero
Time High Virtually Zero
Risk:
Loosing $$$ * Virtually Zero Medium-High*
Loosing Time High Virtually Zero
Responsibility Medium-High Virtually Zero
Emotion/stress Medium Low
Potential $$$ returns:
Immediate $$$ (month 1) High Medium-High
Ongoing passive income Zero High

Taking the contract gave me confidence as it allowed me to buy a larger value of HyperVerse memberships and put a reasonable amount into YieldNodes, knowing that I would have income from paid freelance work coming in for a few months which would mitigate any potential loss.

Let’s face it; the first time you put money into something new, it’s pretty nerve-wracking!

*De-risking potential $$$ loss was one of the primary reasons I weighted HyperVerse more heavily than YieldNodes – because I could exchange my rewards, withdraw and de-risk my initial faster; ie get all my money out more quickly…then ride on “house” money. More info below.

How I initially split my funds and the reasons

I put 80% into Hyperfund and 20% to YieldNodes. Then I would withdraw regularly from Hyper and input to Yieldnodes (or pure crypto).

It’s difficult to create a comparison table between HyperVerse and Yieldnodes because they are both very different with very different mechanisms. Please remember that neither of these are investments – they are not financial products; HyperVerse offers a membership rewards program and Yieldnodes, a server rental with profit-share.

Below were some of the considerations (beyond general due diligence).

HyperVerse YieldNodes
What is it? Membership rewards program Server rental with profit share
Minimum cost to participate 300 USDT 500 EUR (approx 600 USD) paid in BTC
What is the monthly rewards based on historical and/or claims?
15%
(0.5% rewards per day)
11%
(historical average - varies)
In theory, what is the shortest length of time to get your initial back?
200 days
(0.5% X 200 days = 100%)
Approx 220 days
(6 months to unlock, then 6 weeks)
What is the soonest you can see withdrawals back in your pocket? Around 48-72 hours
Approx 2 months
(depends on deposit date)
How frequently can you withdraw? Daily Monthly
How frequently can you grow? Daily (via 'rebuy') Monthly (via 'compound')
In theory, how quickly could you start to de-risk (withdraw)? After 24 hours,
then daily
After 1-2 months,
then monthly
How big is the potential to grow, beyond the core opportunity?
Massive
(multi-level community growth program)
Average
(single-level basic affiliate referral program)
Important things to note HyperVerse is a membership rewards program that provides 3X at 0.5% per day for the purchased membership(s). This is per membership, not ‘forever’. YieldNodes is a server rental program that provides return via monthly profit share. In theory, the capital remains intact and the return continues 'forever'.

The main reasons fo the larger % initially going to HyperVerse (from my perspective) were:

  • The DAILY release of rewards
  • The ability to start withdrawing immediately 
  • Lots of evidence of people withdrawing
  • The ‘stable’ and higher initial release (0.5% per day = approx 15% per month)

In theory the DAILY and higher % rate at which rewards were released meant I could de-risk much, much faster with HyperVerse than I could with YieldNodes. Note that in the much longer term (ie longer than 1 year), Yieldnodes probably works out better, assuming you are not participating in any referral aspects of Hyper, which I wasn’t.

However, my driver was derisking as fast as possible.

Below are some other reasons you might consider HyperVerse over Yieldnodes. 

These were not decision factors for me at the time and, mainly because at the time I was looking for 100% passive (ie I had no interest in referring others).

  • Crypto education and training included (inc news + live Zoom and recorded videos)
  • Smaller minimum requirement of 300USDT (Yieldnodes is 500EUR)
  • Opportunity to accelerate your rewards by growing the community

If you wish to ‘test the water’ with as little as possible, HyperFund is a bit more accessible. Also, if you have ambition to either learn about blockchain, teach or put a little bit of effort in and upgrade your life, then Hyperfund gives you the opportunity to do that through their community referral program.

NOTE: please read my article on Hyperverse – a lot changed in January 2022 and some of the content here may no longer be accurate 🙁

What I did with HyperVerse

I did a few deposits, bought memberships, tested the rebuys and withdrawals, followed some instructions on how to maximise everything and essentially went ‘all in’ with my 80%,. Then I withdrew regularly (every 5-10 days) until I’d drawn down to an amount that I felt comfortable with.

I used my reward withdrawals to fund Yieldnodes and buy crypto.

Now, around six months after joining, I’m withdrawing and rebuying at approximately 50:50 – this allows me to treat myself or others whilst continuing to grow my HyperVerse memberships.

How much daily time does HyperVerse require?

It requires zero time, however if you want to do something such as rebuy or withdraw, that can take anything from a few seconds to a few minutes.

For me, the time I spent was mostly in due diligence and making the decision that Hyperfund was right for me.

In terms of ‘doing’, it only takes a few minutes for deposit  and purchase memberships (all of which I completed in the first few weeks).

Then for the first 4 months I withdrew 1-2 times per week. This takes a few minutes logging into your account and verifying all the security stuff to initiate the withdrawal.

Now, when I’m rebuying it takes 30 seconds each day. And again, if I want to withdraw, it takes a few mins to login and pass all the security verifications etc.

The initial setup might take you a little longer than me because if you’re new to crypto, you’ll need to set up accounts on a few exchanges such as Coinbase, Binance or OKex so you can exchange your fiat currency (eg USD, GBP, EUR) to crypto (Tether, USDT) and then deposit. I already had accounts in various exchanges, however even within the past 5 months there are now other options that provide much faster/easier ways to deposit 🙂

So basically, it takes me 30 seconds per day to rebuy or 5 mins if I’m withdrawing. And I don’t have to do either!

Yep I don’t have to login every day and rebuy – it just makes sense to do so as it makes your rewards work harder for you, rather than sitting there, doing nothing.

What I did with YieldNodes 

I deposited the other 20% to YieldNodes and set their handy little ‘auto-compound’ slider to put 100% of the profits back into the system. 

I then topped up; 

  • In February with a lump sum from January freelance work
  • In February/March from HyperFund withdrawals

I’m continuing to 100% compound until June after which I may withdraw my initial deposit &/or start partially compounding and withdrawing monthly. Haven’t decided yet as much depends on other factors.

How much daily time does YieldNodes require?

Similar to Hyperfund, the time spent was more in the due diligence and making the decision that the opportunity was right for me. In terms of ‘doing’, it only takes a few minutes to deposit and virtually zero ongoing.

If you are compounding 100%, absolutely zero time is required; set the slider and everything is automatic.

The withdrawal process takes just a few minutes, however you can only initiate withdrawals once per month and they process these withdrawal requests in windows; you need to submit the request before 15th of month, and you’ll have your funds by 8th of following month, in Bitcoin.

By June 2021, my initial December deposits become ‘unlocked’ (6 months have passed) and I could start withdrawing in larger chunks than just the monthly returns (ie, I could withdraw anything that is unlocked AND my monthly returns if I wish).

Similar to any opportunity, my decision to withdraw (or ‘grow’) is not only based on the platform. It is based on many other factors, e.g. if the cryptocurrency market is in ‘bull mode’ and I feel there is more opportunity there, then it makes more sense for me to withdraw heavily….ie external factors influence my decisions.

24th July 2021 update I set to withdraw a lump in July to go towards Strong Nodes to further diversify my portfolio. It is now set to 50% compound. The other 50%, I withdraw into Bitcoin each month — a lazy way to dollar cost average (DCA) in each month 🙂


The above banner uses my referral link (https://yieldnodes.com?a=OkWqAQ547Mjnmb1)

Where got to and am today

Six months later, I’d withdrawn around 90% of what I originally deposited to Hyperfund and have withdrawn nothing from Yieldnodes. I probably would have stopped at around 70% and started partially rebuying however, I was doing 2 things with the Hyperfund withdrawals:

  1. Depositing to Yieldnodes
  2. Purchasing cryptocurrency

The first quarter of 2021 has been very much in a ‘bull market’ for cryptocurrency which is one of the main reasons for these choices. If the market had been flat or ‘bear’, I may have started rebuying with Hyper rewards sooner.

As of July, I’ll be withdrawing a percentage monthly return from YieldNodes and compounding the rest.

Similarly with HyperFund, I’m alternating between withdrawals and rebuys (approx 50:50 ie. ‘rebuy’ first half of month, withdraw second half). This allows me to keep growing whilst also enjoying some of the rewards..

The aim of the game is to keep everything working hard, whilst keeping risk low 😉

  • 24th July 2021 update:
  • HyperFund – I withdrew at 100% for a while longer as I discovered Strong nodes and wanted to buy some! Once that’s funded, the intention is to approx 50:50 rebuy:withdraw.
  • Yieldnodes – I’ve reduced auto-compounding from 100% to 50% and am withdrawing monthly into BTC. This is basically hands-free dollar-cost-averaging (DCA) into BTC. I also took out a chunk for Strong nodes — this is now one of my top passive income streams 🙂
  • Dec 2021 update:
  • HyperFund – I have paused invites on this as they are migrating their systems and updating to become Hyperverse and although the membership rewards sound like minimal changes, I’m not yet clear on everything. More info here.
  • Yieldnodes (& Strong) – no change: still withdrawing and growing approx 50:50.
  • Feb 2022 update:
  • HyperFund/Hyperverse – Please see here for Hyper updates as things have changed a lot since January (and their update/rebrand): https://vanlifeincome.net/hyper-review (important – I’m not impressed by recent “comms”!)
  • Yieldnodes – no change: still withdrawing and growing approx 50:50!

Would I do things differently?

In theory (and with hindsight — now knowing that both programs do pay out!), the ‘better’ route would have been to get stuck into Hyperfund and actively participate in their community growth and benefit from ‘accelerated rewards’ sooner (I didn’t start sharing/referring until July – more than six months after joining).

However, after assessing my personal situation, the opportunities available to me and my appetite for risk, I decided to go down the ‘totally passive’ route and earn reliable income via the freelance contract.

Also, I wouldn’t be comfortable sharing something without first having decent experience in it.

This was not the most profitable route however, it was the right choice for me at the time; I was working towards a life of freedom and while developing a passive income and becoming financially free is a big part of that, it’s not just about money, it’s about happiness, which means it’s also about stress and comfort… 

In summary; I chose the route that seemed the best balance of risk and reward for me. 

Yours might be different 😜

Which one is right for {me}?

I can only provide information and insight based on my own experience. Just as I did, you will need to assess your personal situation and decide what fits and feels best for you.

I can’t do that for you, however I can help. 😃

For example, if you have minimal funds but want to get stuck into something, learn about cryptocurrency/blockchain and grow a business opportunity then Hyperfund is probably the one. Or if you want to de-risk as fast as possible (ie. similar to me), Hyperfund was the faster option.

If you have more funds and know you want to be completely passive and/or want to leave things untouched for a much longer timeframe, then Yieldnodes might be a better match.

Which is the winner?

Both have been great and I’m very happy to have diversification.

And do remember folks; these are not bank accounts. They are not financial services – they are unregulated, ‘new world’ opportunities and they are risky!

Whilst both have been great for me, if you want a community and crypto education, have an appetite for success and want the power to personally influence outcomes, then: Hyperfund — read more about my full experience here.

If you prefer 100% passive and simple process, then register for Yieldnodes, set compounding to 100% and forget about it :). Read more about my Yieldnodes experience here.

*** UPDATE FEB 2022: After recent Hyper updates, the clear winner is Yieldnodes.


The above banner uses my referral link (https://yieldnodes.com?a=OkWqAQ547Mjnmb1). You do not have to use it, however if you deposit using it, I earn a small commission 🙏

Share this Post :)

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

Disclaimer: As with everything on this site, this article is for informational purposes only and is not advice of any kind. I simply share my experiences and my opinions for information. I am not a financial adviser and I am not providing investment advice or financial or legal advice of any kind. Cryptocurrencies (and most business opportunities) are high risk. Many of the opportunities I discuss exist in new, high risk and unregulated markets. Some methods require significant investment of time and/or relevant skills. Please do your own research and due diligence; do not blindly follow anyone!

Top Posts

Search Posts

Recent Passive Income Posts

Passive income with Constellation: $DAG nodes & co-nodes

Constellation network, their $DAG and hypergraph transfer Protocol (HGTP) are tasty tech. They have multiple great value propositions and the technology to back it up alongside a means to earn passive income.

Read More →

Tangible DAO, marketplace & TNFTs: invest in real-world assets & earn passive income | $TNGBL

Do you like the thought of investing in real-world assets such as property, fine wine, art and watches but don’t know where to begin? Fancy spreading your risk a bit and investing in assets that are not correlated to the crypto market? Tangible might be just what you’re looking for…

Read More →

Fiscus DAO: can $FISC become the highest-price, highest-impact crypto token with the greatest utility?

First up, Fiscus isn’t your typical “passive income” crypto or some flash-in-the-pan project. It’s big. Really big. And if you really want to get your head around it, it’s going to take some time. But it’s worth it!

Read More →
Scroll to Top

Get Income Updates

Private content delivered once per month
Unsubscribe anytime (view privacy policy)